Ladies of Marvel: Comics Edition

In June, Marvel announced this month would be celebrating their ladies from the comics with “Women of Marvel.” They would re-release issues of Black Widow #1, Captain Marvel #1,Unbeatable Squirrel Girl #1, Thor #1, Spider-Gwen #1, She-Hulk #1, Ms. Marvel #1, Silk #1, Princess Leia #1, and Spider-Woman #5 (the reason for the fifth issue was because it was the introduction of a new story for Spider-Woman, Jessica Drew, and a costume change) for $1 each. This means if you are interested in trying out one of the comics, now is the chance. You can see if one of their stories interests you, and support the ladies while doing it.

I started really reading comic books this year. Before I would casually pick up an issue of Buffy to see what was happening with the Scooby gang, but this was the year I got serious with comics. What got me interested were the announcements of Thor being a female (Thor), Sam Wilson (Falcon) becoming the new Captain America (All-New Captain America), Peggy Carter getting her own short series (Original S.I.N.), and a new series based on Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. characters (S.H.I.E.L.D.). Now I am trying to collect a few of the Marvel ladies comics.

For me my top five of these ten would be: Captain Marvel, Ms. Marvel, Silk, Spider-Woman, and Thor (Black Widow is another favorite). Most of these characters have been around for a while, but it was easy to learn about these characters and histories through the issues and sometimes the internet. It is easier to find out a character’s background thanks to Google.

One reason why I would suggest Captain Marvel (Carol Danvers) would be due to the movie coming out a couple of years from now. This was a good series by Kelly Sue Decconick. This series is over now, but a new one will start up soon written by the Agent Carter show runners, Tara Butters and Michele Fazekas.

Of course this recommendation leads me to also suggesting Spider-Woman because Drew and Danvers are best friends, and while Drew may not end up in the movie there is always a chance. It would be awesome to see the two of them together on the big screen.

It would also be great seeing Ms. Marvel (Kamala Khan) in the movie. Before Danvers was known as Captain Marvel in the comics she bore the title Ms. Marvel. Danvers has shown up in Ms. Marvel and those were some good issues. It would be a great introduction for Khan and/or Drew to be included in the film.

Marvel is also releasing five one-shots featuring S.H.I.E.L.D. agents this month with four out of five of those issues being female agents: Peggy Carter, Bobbi Morse (Mockingbird), Melinda May (Calvary), and Daisy Johnson (Quake). While these single issues are not $1 I will still recommend picking them up.

Of course if you enjoy them, I would highly recommend reading S.H.I.E.L.D. since Morse, May, and Johnson have all been in the series including another lady agent, Jemma Simmons (my favorite).

Leave a comment