Christmas with Rankin and Bass and a Few Others

One of the things I enjoy the most about TV’s winter hiatus is being able to see the classic Christmas TV specials. Some  of them are near to my heart, while others I generally try to avoid. Here is my list from least favorites to all-time favorites:

9. “The Little Drummer Boy”

While I love the song, the TV special really never did anything for me. It is easier for me to just play air drums during the song.

8. “Frosty, the Snowman”

The same could be said with this special. It is better to listen to the song, and have the extra time to do something else.

7. “Jack Frost”

The main reason I would suggest missing this special is because it is more of a tear jerker than anything else. I also think this should be watched closer to Groundhog Day than anything else.

6. “‘Twas the Night Before Christmas”

Whenever I see this on TV, I stop to watch it. I love the story this special is based on.

5. “Santa Claus is Comin’ to Town”

Fred Astaire being the narrator is enough reason to watch this special. Besides my love for Fred, it gives a brief (not-all-the-way-accurate) history on Santa Claus while still making it enjoyable for children.

4. “The Year Without a Santa Claus”

I love the Miser brothers, and I still sing along with their introduction songs. However, what makes me love the film is the children letting Santa Clause have a holiday. The song “I’ll Have a Blue Christmas Without You,” is so heartbreaking.

3. “Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer”

This is a special about misfits. They even have a song and island dedicated to them. The movie proves misfits are valuable, and can even save the day. It is better to be outside the norm. Plus, have you ever loved a soon-to-be dentist as much as Hermey?

2. “How the Grinch Stole Christmas”

Not the Jim Carrey version. The original version is the best one. There never needed to be a remake because the cartoon was already perfect. It is better to love the Grinch and Whoville in the rhyming, cartoon form.

1. “A Charlie Brown Christmas”

Charles Schulz comics are one of the first things I remember. Schroeder was a favorite because he was always practicing his piano paying no attention to Lucy. However, the one who steals the special (besides Snoopy) is Linus. The blanket toting, best friend is the one who understands Christmas the best out of the rest of the children.

Leave a Reply

