Top 5 Anticipated New Dramas

5. Almost Human (Fox, Mondays at 8 P.M., Nov. 4) :
Almost every time I see a trailer for a new TV show, I compare it to another story I have read or show I’ve seen. This show immediately reminded me of I, Robot, with the main character hating robots, in a world robots are part of society. I can see how the show will be different in some aspects of the story, and I’m interested in seeing their own take on robots being integrated in their universe.
almost-human_509

This show is a production of Bad Robot, and J.J. Abrams is an executive producer. Abrams has been a favorite of mine ever since I was introduced to Alias. Not to mention the creator of this is J.H. Whyman who was involved with FringeFringe was a great show.

BadRobotLOGONEW

Finally, the gorgeous Karl Urban, perhaps better known for his roles in Lord of the Rings and Star Trek, is the star of this show. Sure Chris Pine and Zachary Quinto are attractive in Abrams’ reboot of Star Trek, but when Bones was on screen my eyes automatically went to him. I felt more drawn to his character, because he felt more grounded and the most humorous (aside from Simon Pegg’s Scotty) to me.

tumblr_mt4l612IFi1ryhb7lo3_250

4. Hostages (CBS, Mondays at 10 P.M., Sept. 23):

I would say I’m only watching for Dylan McDermott’s scruff, but that’s not true. This show has the potential to be a very interesting one, and I am seriously hoping that there are good twists in it.
o-HOSTAGES-TONI-COLLETTE-facebook
 I want to know the reasoning on why they want to kill the president. It could be a story where the president is secretly a bad guy, and that is why he needs to be killed. I’m hoping if they do go down that road, they make it interesting.
Hostages-1-sheet_epws__130717170959-575x851
The trailer was good, and I was more interested by this show than its mid-replacement, Intelligence. It gave me more of a feeling of the story could go in multiple directions. With Intelligence, it feels like it will be about Josh Holloway’s character using his super human skills to save the day. The trailer did not give me a great first impression.Right now, I have my fingers crossed that Hostages will not disappoint me, and go along for the ride right now.

3. Sleepy Hollow (Fox, Mondays at 9 P.M., Sept. 16):

The story of “The Legend of Sleepy Hollow” by Washington Irving scared the living daylights out of me when I was a little girl. I mean, there is a guy riding on a horse without his head. How much creepier can you get? I can live with characters missing a limb, but a head? It gave me the heebie jeebies. So when it was announced they were making this as a pilot, it didn’t have my full attention. However, it did slowly get more of my attention as time went by, and more came out about the show.
Sleepy-Hollow-Title
First of all, the creators, Robert Orci and Alex Kurtzman, were involved with AliasFringe, and co-wrote the newStar Trek. Be still my nerd heart. My interest definitely grew when I found out they were involved.
fall_tv_preview_sleepyhollow1
I also loved the trailer. So much falls on the trailer. If the trailer disappoints, than interest in a show may dim. It can also lose potential audience members altogether. I enjoyed Nicole Beharie’s character in the trailer, from her being in charge to her interactions with Tom Mison (Icabod Crane). I’m interested to see how the two characters, Abbie Mills and Ichabod Crane, work together, and how their relationship will develop.
Nicole-Beharie-of-Sleepy-Hollow
Side note: I may have squealed a little when I saw John Cho in the trailer. Of course he may die in the show, but I’m going to love seeing him on my TV screen again. I really miss Go On.
tumblr_mswyesBM9K1qfxi1to2_250
tumblr_mswyesBM9K1qfxi1to6_r1_250

2. The Blacklist (NBC, Mondays at 10 P.M., Sept. 23):

The trailer for this show: grabbed my full attention, and hasn’t let me go. James Spader is now bald. Gone is the hair from his days of being on The Practice or playing Robert California on The Office.
james_spader_to_join-460x307
I do believe Spader is going to play his role, Raymond Reddington, incredibly well, if the trailer is to be believed. There are two thoughts running through my mind with this show. The first: Will Megan Boone play an excellent counterpart to Spader? (I think she might be able to from her stabbing Spader in the neck during the trailer.) The second question is my hope in that I really wish that one of the surprises is not a family connection between Spader’s and Boone’s characters.
james-spader-the-blacklist

1. Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. Coulson lives. That is all. That is the number one reason why this is at the top of my list. OK. There are a few other reasons why this show is at the top of my list.

agent-caulson
Whenever I hear Joss Whedon is involved in a new TV project I want to know more. When I heard Whedon was doing a S.H.I.E.L.D pilot, I went into overboard fangirling mode. Whedon knows how characters work, and helps bring out the human parts of them.
agents-of-shield-abc
Kudos to Whedon for bringing Agent Phil Coulson, last seen in 2012’s The Avengers, back to life. I know Whedon is known for killing characters, but how many times has he brought a character back to life now? I’m all for Wash coming back to life on Firefly, or even a clone of Wash by the way.
tumblr_ms2bmuKsj41qa2ewio3_r1_500
It will be interesting to see how Marvel’s first live-action show does in ratings, as it is up against CBS’s NCIS. Cote de Pablo is leaving the show, so who knows if S.H.I.E.L.D coming on, and de Pablo’s character exit will have any effect on NCIS’s ratings.With the promise of Whedon at the helm, and Clark Gregg’s return as Coulson, I know I’ll be tuning in to ABC, Tuesdays at 8 P.M.

Honorable Mentioned: Once Upon a Time in Wonderland (ABC, Thursdays at 8 P.M., Oct. 10):

The second season of Once Upon a Time was, usually, a hot mess. Yet, its poor sophomore year hasn’t deterred me from giving the third season of Once and its new-this-season spin-off, Wonderland, a chance. There are a few reasons why I’m going to give Wonderland a shot.
once-upon-a-time-in-wonderland-575
·         Jane Espenson: Jane Espenson is a talented writer and experienced show runner, especially in the sci-fi/fantasy genres. She has been involved, in either a writing or producing role, with Buffy the Vampire Slayer,Battlestar GalaticaGame of Thrones, and Warehouse 13, among many other well-known TV series. As I mentioned before, the whole second season of Once wasn’t an entire flop. Espenson is one of the reasons why I still watch: I love the way she can tell a story, and how in depth she goes with the characters. One of her episodes, “The Miller’s Daughter,” was one of the best episodes of season 2.·         Friendship: I’m also watching it for the story lines that are not the love story.  I get enough romance and drama with Snow White and Prince Charming; too much, actually. I want to see Alice’s friendship with the Knave of Hearts; if it is done right, their dialogue should be entertaining. (At least, I hope.)

131986_2860r1_ful
·         Finally, Sayid– I mean Naveen Andrews is playing Jafar. I am excited because the baddie on Once are generally the best characters on the show, and it doesn’t hurt that they are also exceptional actors. Andrews easily falls into the fold. The only thing I wish is that they would get rid of his obvious, hideous wig.
wonderland-jafar1-710x351
2 thoughts on “Top 5 Anticipated New Dramas

  1. […] about FOX’s new-this-season fantasy horror drama, Sleepy Hollow. And by ‘divided,’ I mean BeccaDearie was gung-ho and full of hopeful anticipation; I was less than enthusiastic, convinced the pilot would be full of, well, something; and FSUKerry […]

Leave a Reply

